Home Forums Tech Talk Newb..Help with starting first kart

This topic contains 20 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Adam Dozier 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author

Adam Dozier
    Participant

Good afternoon everyone. I am a newbie with karts. I just picked up three enduro karts. They sat for several years and I got them for free. I have 4 Rotax motors, three chassis, and 4 full sets of body work. I am attempting to start the first kart after assembly. I am not sure if I have the right wire going to the spark plug from the ignition source or not. I have changed out the fuel line, and fuel filter. Also pulled the spark plug and turned the motor over by hand. I have put the plug back in and I do have an electric starter for it. I turn the motor over with fresh fuel, primed like I had researched. I cover the carb and try to start. It just spins over. I can hear compression. There are two pig tails coming from the motor. I have one connected to the ignition. The other is sitting disconnected. I don’t know where it goes.

Adam Dozier
    Participant

To clarify…Can someone help me to get this kart started? I heard from someone there my be a 9v battery involved somehow somewhere? Any help is greatly appreciated. I see there’s 45 views so far and no comments.

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

Adam

You may be right, it may be necessary to install a small 12v battery to complete the circuit, shortly after that you may wanna check for spark

Did you clean the carburetor?

Did the engine run before the last owner gave it to you?

If so, then install a new battery, prime the fuel to make sure there are no air pockets in the fuel line, pull the choke up and fire that puppy up, hook up a spark tester to make sure you’re getting spark, if not then start looking at your wiring harness and coil. That would be a good place to start.

Greg Wright
    Participant