Home Forums Shifter Karts New to Karts. Need guidance and advice

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Ben Lewis 1 week, 5 days ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Jose Abella

Hey there, as the title states Im new to karts. I picked up a kart from a friend and want to learn as much as I can. I know, its a CTS chassis, CR125 powered, and has brembo brakes. I got to try it out at a local track last week and I’m hooked. any info or help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jose Abella

some of the things I have questions about.

Is that a good chassis?

Typical gearing and final drive ratio

What plastics can be used on that frame

Something I noticed is I dont feel a drop in RPM’s on the upshifts. Bad clutch?, Shifting too late? gearing issue maybe? Seems to be running out of top end. It currently has a 24 rear, 15 front. 1.6 ratio. Thoughts?

Matt Martin

what track?  gearing depends on track.  loss of top end might be gearing, might be carb setup, might be engine maint.

how many hours on the motor?

if you’re just starting out, a straight, not-cracked chassis is all you need.

Jose Abella

Matt, track is Orlando Kart Center. Not sure how long the straights are but that was my initial impression. Unfortunately I don’t have a documented history on motor so I can only speculate. Seems to have tons of power when it comes on. I noticed that there is no “power valve”. From what I’ve read, it has something to do with not needing so much on the bottom end. Not sure.

Matt Martin

A slipping clutch will cause rise in RPM without a change in speed.

I would ask around the folks at that track what gearing they are running, and what carb setups they’re running.  If things are still going awry after those adjustments, you should look into having the motor gone through.

Jim Derrig