Home Forums General Karting Discussion New to Karting, looking for Top Kart HPV/KPV pointers

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Andres Malovos 3 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Andres Malovos
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m new to karting and have picked up a 1999/2000 Top Kart. The person I purchased from also bought it used, so not totally sure on its year. It has a HPV/KPV engine.

I’m curious if anyone has experience with Top Kart’s from that era and any chassis pointers like alignment specs to share. I can send pictures if you need to see anything on the kart.
    Any baseline chassis setups that were go to would be helpful.

Also curious on the engine front, any tricks and tips?

I have a solid package to get started. The engine performs well, I have a Mychron 3 to collect data. Two sets of mag wheels, one aluminum set, some used practice tires, RLV exact toe alignment tool, spare coils, stater, sprockets, clutch, etc. Any must haves?

I don’t see much in the way of service manuals so any hard learned track knowledge is very much welcome.

Does the K71, HPV, KPV share engine parts? Can you re-ring the motor, curious as all I’m seeing are piston/ring combo’s.

Thanks,

Any info is welcome

Jim Derrig
    Participant

Andres, I had a 1997 Top Kart at one point, though it was a “Top 125” shifter.  It was nigh indestructable, but very stiff, which might not be the best for your relatively low-power engine.  The good news is that the parts can still be got, as most of them are generic rather than unique to TopKart.

Regardless, your alignment specs are going to depend as much on the track you race as on the brand of chassis.  I’d go to the track with a neutral front pills, 4mm of toe out, a medium axle and hubs, front and back track at maximum, center ride height (i.e., very standard starting point) and take it from there.

Andres Malovos
    Participant