Home Forums Shifter Karts Looking to get back into 125 Shifters (Mid West)

This topic contains 14 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Bob Davies 12 months ago.

• Author

Alex Lloyd
    Participant

I’ve been running LO206 for a few years after running shifters on street and road courses from about 2005-2012 (both 125 and 250). However I moved to a new area recently and the nearest track (NCMP) seems too big for an LO206. You are flat out a lot of the way around and all the drivers rely on bump drafting, which I didn’t experience at my last track and I can’t say I’m a fan of. So, given NCMP is a big track and I want to get into road racing again also because that’s where my heart lies, I’m considering buying a 125 shifter.

Does anyone here race 125 shifter at NCMP? If not, does anyone know much about the road racing shifter scene in the mid-west? Also where is a good place to buy one?

Eric Riggs
    Participant

I’ve only run at NCMP once a few years ago for SKUSA summer nats.  It’s a fun track for a shifter kart.  As for road racing check out http://www.championshipenduro.com/

For buying a shifter kart there’s going to be lots of opinions but personally I’ve had good luck buying used either on ebay or ekn.  The next question you’ll ask is what engine to go with and again that’s a tough question to answer.  I think most would agree that the newer ICC’s are taking over now but stock honda’s are still pretty competitive.

Clark Gaynor Sr.
    Participant

As Eric noted, check out the Championship Enduro Series (CES), DART Kart Club, KART, and the World Karting Assoc.  All are, or have road race series.

We road race with WKA and the Woodbridge Kart Club, so we’re a bit further East.  But it might be worth checking with CPI (Phil Davis, Pa.) or Fisher Racing Engines (Brian Fisher, Tx.) for chassis’ and motors.

As Eric also stated, Stock Honda’s are very popular in some areas, but the KZ (ICC) engines are getting a little more popular here in the East.