Home Forums General Karting Discussion Looking to buy a Kart

This topic contains 21 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Jim Derrig 1 year ago.

Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author

Brian Bush
    Participant

Lookimg for some information on where to start. I rode a buddy of mines shifter Kart tonight with an 80cc motor. Long story short is I fell in love with it. Where would be a good start in finding a kart that suits what I want to do with it and learn more about these machines. I’m a complete newbie and have some questions to ask and looking for input. Please be easy on me as I’m a beginner and this site was recommended to me by a friend that used to race karts. I’m on the hunt for a Kart and don’t know where to start my search.

Dan Schlosser
    Participant

Hey Brian – welcome to the sport! Where are you located? That’s usually the best first step toward finding out information.

Brian Bush
    Participant

I’m located in northern GA Cartesville to be exact. And I’ll gladly take all the help I can get. I just really don’t even know what questions to ask as I don’t know anything about this except we chewed thru some tires and I loved it. I haven’t had that much fun in a long long time. Mainly looking to find a decent starter rig and how to go about finding one. The one I rode was an 80cc shifter Kart with some sort of dirt bike motor, what brand of motor I’m not sure as I didn’t ask. Any guidance appreciated.

Dan Schlosser
    Participant

The 80cc shifters are a little trickier to find but they are usually pretty reasonable. Maybe a little less supported but like you said, they are dirt bike engines and Honda/Yamaha/Suzuki/etc aren’t really going anywhere soon. I’d be more careful with the chassis so you don’t find yourself with something that parts are hard to find.