Home Forums General Karting Discussion KT100 Rebuild Cost

This topic contains 17 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Daniel White 1 month, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author

Walt Gifford
    Participant

How much are you guys paying your trusted engine builder for a full rebuild (no blue printing) including con rod on a Yamaha KT100? I’ve heard of crazy prices like $700. Parts are like $300 retail so that’s like $400 labor??

Thanks,
    Gif

FAA certified jet engine and aircraft technician,
    Nicholson Speedway class champion 2001,
    Yamaha KT100 Service Center,
    41 years karting experience

• This topic was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Walt Gifford.

Daniel White
    Participant

I’ve been racing KT since late 2012, and have had just 3 rebuilds, usually after 7-8 hours. I don’t think I have ever paid less than $700. One time I had to have a new crank half, and added a can carb (I already had a SR-Y pipe-prepared carb), along with my rebuild, and it came to $1000.

Walt Gifford
    Participant

Yeah, I’ve been calling around and that’s about right. The amount of money businesses have to charge to keep the doors open these days is just crazy. I’ve been charging my buddies 450 total and to think kart shops get parts wholesale and I don’t. Glad I build my own, that labor charge is a big expense.

Gif

Aaron Hachmeister
    Participant

I figure it’s probably pretty dependent on if anything’s wrong with the engine. I know Comet Kart Sales charges $200 for labor every time, and my builder has given us anything from $300 to $750 depending on damage. If the crank got knocked out of alignment or if I over-revved the engine on accident and the piston hit the top of the cylinder it’d obviously be a little more.

Ray Mcik
    Participant

With the cost of a shop etc etc and taxes they have to charge   to keep the lights on . since when did profit become a dirty word ?