Home Forums 2-Cycle Racing KT-100 Gearing at Gopro Motorplex?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  John Wehrheim 4 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Jeremy Ellison
    Participant

Does anyone know where I should start out at MMX gearing wise? I’ll be running a KT100 4 hole can w/ WB3a carb. Just need a place to start. Thanks!

Jeremy Ellison
    Participant

Got some advice at the track and ended up running 10/73 and 11/81. Thought I’d leave it here in case someone searches for the info.

Mark Sink
    Participant

Hi Jeremy,

Im new to karting, and have a KPV motor.  Similar to your KT100, and I live in Cary.  I also just met another newbie who lives in Raleigh, he got a KT100 too.  He and I want to go to the kart track at VIR soon, would you like to join us?  I went for the first time a few days ago, and it was a lot of fun… I was also the only person there, it was a Wednesday.  We would like to go on a Sat or Sun, maybe this weekend.  Ive been to MMX maybe 4 times.  VIR is smaller, so there is less time to relax and catch your breath.. it’s kinda brutal actually :) We’re just going for fun if you’d like to join us.

Mark

Jay
    Participant

My daughter runs Yamaha jr. at MMX and we run anywhere from a 10/75 when track track is bad to a 10/72 on a race day. it really depends on the rubber on the track and what  her rpm is that day I keep adjusting until the motor turns right around 14000 RPM’s her motor seems to run out over 14200. I think Jeremy is right a good number to start with is 10/73 or 11/80 – 11/81. obviously The more speed you can carry out of the turns the lower number gear you can run and the faster you will go, but if you bogg a KT100 down it takes a long time to get your rpm back.

Ted Hamilton
    Participant