Home Forums Chassis & Handling HELP!!! bent CRG frame, need advice.

This topic contains 11 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Eric Alexander 11 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Jeff Fitzgerald
    Participant

Newbie here. Just acquired a shifter kart from a buddy who used to run it in JAX florida. The tag on the frame says it is a CRG Daytona Heron, CIR-ICA ICC, 99-02 03  2793. It has a KX125 motor on it.

Kart runs great but long story short kart came off trailer while being hauled and hit a guardrail. Frame is bent on right front where it hit. Right front wheel is bent back due to frame being bent. I can post pics if this forum allows. I need advice on if this can be fixed or should I be looking for another used frame to bolt everything back on to?

All the research I have done on this frame it seems to be an older model that is not made anymore. I am just getting started and hate to have to sink a bunch of money into a frame, would prefer to find a used one or get this one repaired.

Any advice on this frame?

Thanks,Jeff

<hr />

Jef

tony zambos
    Participant

Mike Clark
    Participant

Pics would really help.

Your location and your ability to ship the frame would also come into play.

I know the shop @ Nola Motorsports Park has a frame table and is a CRG shop.

Jeff Fitzgerald
    Participant

Thanks Mike I will contact Nola if I need to I can ship them the frame no problem.

Thanks for all the tips. I live near Charlotte NC and there is a track, GoPro Motorplex that hosts races. I may take it up there and have them take a look. I do know of a couple local places that build frames, mini dragsters, etc. that I may see if they can fix it.

I do have the ability to strip it and ship the frame via motor freight anywhere in the country through my work so maybe that is an option. I will post some pics after I get home tonight.