Home Forums Chassis & Handling Getting Birel R32 steering column centered

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Libretto 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Cosmin
    Participant

Hi everyone, I am new to karting and got myself into an R32ST. I’ve changed the nylon support than holds the steering column and the uniball bearing at the bottom, but now I can not get the column to line up perfectly with the uniball. It is slightly off, causing it to bind when I put it in the uniball bearing.

Can anyone help with instructions on how to adjust the 2 brackets on each side of the nylon holder in order to center the steering column?

Thanks

Stephen barthelmass
    Participant

it sounds like eitheryour tightening the bolt on the bottom of the steering shaft too tight. You have a bent steering shaft or a seized uniball bearing.  If the steering shaft is hitting the uniball housing when turning the wheel then something is definitely bent.

Troy V Smith
    Participant

Typically, I would install the uni-ball end first, then set and tighten up the nylon bushing.   If your column is tight in the uni-ball, you should have plenty of “free motion”, in the shaft to line it up with the bushings up top (as Stephen says – as long as the uni-ball isn’t junk).  I would think you’d see a bend in the steering shaft if it were bent, but sounds like your best bet is to loosen up everything, and set it all in place without tightening things up.  Get everything lined up and free – then try tightening it up from there.  See how that goes for you…

Cosmin
    Participant

Thanks for the responses guys. To elaborate a bit more, nothing is tightened at this point, nylon and uniball are both new. Steering column is not bent as everything was lined up before I took it all apart. Here are some pictures to help clear things up: http://imgur.com/a/boazf