Home Forums General Karting Discussion Full bumpers in kart racing

This topic contains 35 replies, has 23 voices, and was last updated by  Paul Hir 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 36 total)
  • Author

Chris Fraser
    Participant

Hello everyone.  I’m fairly new to the sport and have been doing quite a bit of practice in rotax sr.

One observation I’ve made is that most of the serious crashes in racing seem to be caused by touching wheels at speed.  The first race I ever watched (Redline Oil Series at Sonoma), I must have seen at least 3 crashes, and the ambulance came onto the track twice (fortunately, just as a precaution and everyone walked away).  I saw karts get launched into the air from touching wheels, one landing on top of another driver.

My question is: why don’t outdoor karts use a full bumper that goes around the perimeter of kart like you see on indoor karts?  I realize that this would make changing wheels, making chassis adjustments, ect more difficult, and also might affect the way the kart flexes, the axle lifts, ect.

I’m just curious if anyone has ever considered this for outdoor karts and what the reasoning is.  Even from watching karting at the higher levels it seems like crashes are still pretty common with experienced drivers, although I haven’t seen a lot of serious injuries.  It seems like if contact between karts was more predictable it might allow for closer racing and give more confidence to the drivers.  Again, I’m new to this – so just curious about people’s thoughts on this subject (I know open wheels karts have been that way for over 50 years).

James Cooksey
    Participant

Try Golf

Chris Fraser
    Participant

Try Golf