Home Forums General Karting Discussion Electric Kart?

This topic contains 21 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Charles Kaneb 1 month, 1 week ago.

Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author

Aaron Hachmeister
    Participant

So I’m relatively new in karting and still in high school. One of my classes is a year long engineering project and I was wondering what the karting community thought of electric karts? Other than commercial entertainment use I haven’t seen anything about it and I believe there are definitely some advantages to trying it. Off the top of my head, there’s less noise for people to complain about and no need to worry about mixing gas, messing with carburetors and clutches (in my yamaha class for the clutches at least). What’s the general opinion on them though? I could see it being almost similar to a TaG engine in terms of power but I’m not really sure. It’d be a fun design concept at the very least if nobody has executed it before.

David Cole
    Keymaster

Hi Aaron,

Check out the Sanzaru Games Karting Championship as they have been running a competition class utilizing electric motors for the past few years. See if you can connect with their director and maybe he can connect you with some of their drivers.

David Cole - eKartingNews.com Managing Editor -
    @DavidColeEKN

Michael Zahorski
    Participant