Home Forums Road Racing Daytona Kart Week

This topic contains 23 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  Todd Brown 6 months ago.

• Author

Connor Kennard
    Participant

Hey all,

I am a newbie to the road racing side of things and need some help. I have a 125cc X30 non shifter kart built on a modified mid 2000s CRG chassis that I was contemplating entering in this year’s Daytona kart week. I am looking to see how many classes I am eligible for, what the track has looked like in previous years, and how the competition is. I would be driving quite a distance to do this and this would be my first race out with the kart. I am predominantly concerned about going down and not being anywhere near competitive due to my kart, and have not gotten a good gauge of where their kart quality stands. Would I be getting too in over my head or would I be right at home in the event.

Bob Cole
    Participant

Go on down and have some fun. You can race in Tag Heavy and IAME sprint. Your kart age shouldn’t harm you, mine is a 2007 and it still works great.

Clark Gaynor Sr.
    Participant

I wouldn’t hurt to join WKA and get your road race endorsement prior to going.  At the same time, contact WKA and get the current 2018 Tech Manual and go over everything pertaining to the two classes Bob mentioned.

Make sure you have all the pre race safety tech items covered before you go.  E.G. full width rear bumper, brake tether, every thing cotter pinned, safety wired, helmet Snell 2010 or newer, etc.

And also as Bob says..have fun!

Clark Sr.

Robert Lawson
    Participant

HEY!!!

Why No coverage from the BIG track????

Race Monitor lists the Sprint event from 28th-31st but NOTHING about the road racing???????

Robert Lawson
    Participant

OK…. I guess I’ll have to do it myself!

John West sent a pic (its on his on FB) of his MyChron with a lap time from practice today of 1:53.16 and a top speed of 147mph in his DEA/Anderson FE 250.