Home Forums Shifter Karts CR80/85 Tech Talk

Tagged: 

This topic contains 41 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Gary Smith 1 month ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 42 total)
  • Author

Derek Lodato
    Participant

All former or current 80cc/85cc Shifter Drivers, Mechanics and Tuners. This topic is for us to discuss tuning, maintenance and performance of strictly the 80cc\85 class.

I’m new to shifters and chose a New CR85 package from Alden Engines so I welcome advice on tuning, tech tips, performance modifications and maintenance on the 80cc/85cc packages.

Any and all advice on best place to buy parts to fine tuning these incredible machines would be welcome

Let’s get these 80′s back out on the track

Thanks!

Gary Smith
    Participant

Congratulations on your motor package purchase!

Just a few questions :

What type of racing?  Sprint, Road Racing or Dirt?

Where are you located?  Altitude for jetting

Running an airbox or open filter? again for jetting

I run sprint tracks with 700- 850 feet straights, I find that a 17 tooth countershaft sprocket and a 27 tooth axle sprocket work best for me. I run a K&N style air filter at about 800 feet above sea level, and my jetting is 37.5 on pilot jet and 195 on main jet.

I order a lot of my parts online, I find that  fastech-racing.com, and sharkshifter.com have most of the parts I need. Every once in a while I stop by my local Honda motorcycle shop to gets parts as well.

I hope you enjoy this motor package!

Gary

Honda CR80 #55

Derek Lodato
    Participant

@ Gary. Thanks for your input. I’m located in Florida and will be running a CR85 package for Sprint only.

I plan on running a K&N style air filter. I believe the straights are about 600 ft at my main track.

My engine is modified by Alden Engines. When I change the top end would I need a special heavy duty top end kit or could I simply replace it with a top end kit from Honda OEM?

Thanks Gary

Gary Smith
    Participant