Home Forums Shifter Karts CR80 Fuel Issue (Newbie Help Please)

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jason Shoulet 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Jason Shoulet
    Participant

I’m new to karting and this website and I have a fuel issue that I’m hoping to get some feedback on.

Problems: On a straight run, the kart would bog at the top of 5th gear and all of 6th.  After (2) or (3) runs up and down the street it will bog down regardless of the gear you are in and completely die.  I rebuilt the fuel pump yesterday and one of the small diaphragms looked slightly bent.  After the fuel pump rebuild the bog in 5th and 6th  was solved.  The kart pulls hard 1st through 6th but it still dies after (2) runs up and down the street.

Additional Information:

• When I put the fuel pump back in I noticed the idle screw was all the way out almost falling out of the carb.  I screwed it back in and the kart idles fine.  After a few minutes of idle at 4,000 rmps it will drop down to 2,000 for a minute or two then go back up to 4,000.
    • When I first purchased the kart I discovered if I filled the gas tank half way or more the kart would bog after decelerating and it would take a 10 seconds or so to pick back up after getting on the gas.  This doesn’t happen if there’s 1/4 or less gas in the tank.  I mention this as I’m wondering if theres an issue with the tank.
    • During earlier troubleshooting before rebuilding the pump I didn’t realize the hole in the tube connecting the (2) vent/overflow ports on carb was intentional as part of the pump around system so I taped it up to see if it fixed the issues which it did not and made it worse (I removed the tape before rebuilding the pump).