Home Forums General Karting Discussion Cornering Question

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  TJ Koyen 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

William Weiler
    Participant

This is kind of a hard question to ask but here goes. After doing some practicing, my cornering feels really fast. It is a very smooth arc, it feels like a perfect semi-circle, I don’t know how else to describe it. A lot of times I run out of traction in the front or barely have enough when I get on the gas in mid corner (after the weight shifts). I understand the next level is more on the edge with constant counter-steering adjustments. Is this right or am I way off?

TonyKart 401s LO206
    Morgan Hill, CA

Rob Kozakowski
    Participant

I’m no expert.  But there is some very recent advice out there from some of the best that I’ve shared below, where you’ll find one very important and consistent talking point – minimizing the steering inputs…

From David Cole’s latest On-Track article:

“One piece of input that Boswell had for me was to slow my hands down and provide less input into the wheel. He compared me to driving a dirt car, turning the wheel multiple times through a corner rather than a consistent, smooth process from entry to apex to exit.”

From David Sera’s latest Deadly Kart newsletter:

“To be a smooth driver, you need to be aware of the steering inputs you are making and ensure it’s minimal on flowing corners. This will enable the kart to grip to its full potential and your mistakes will be minimal.

When holding the steering wheel, a 9-3 hand placement is the safest option. Also straighter arms when sitting in the kart will minimise the inputs placed on the wheel.”