Home Forums General Karting Discussion Bruised Ribs Question

Tagged: 

This topic contains 24 replies, has 15 voices, and was last updated by  Jean-Paul 1 year, 3 months ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author

Aaron
    Participant

Hi – I apologize if this is a redundant question. I am new to karting and recently bruised my ribs while karting.

I am looking for help on:

1. The cause of the bruised ribs

2. How to keep it from happening again.

I am pretty sure the reason for the injury is that my seat was way too tight around the ribs (especially with my thick rib protector on). Is a seat that’s way too small a reasonable guess as to how my ribs may have been bruised?

I have since bought a padded tillet seat that is 2 sizes larger. It’s still a bit tight around the ribs with my thick rib protector on. If I ran without the rib protector, would the padding be enough on the seat to protect from further injury? (Seat looks very similar to this image I found on Google: http://www.shkarting.com/photos/productsimages/fmedium692291266.jpg)

Thanks guys! Loving the sport so far.

Aaron

TJ Koyen
    Participant

Karting is obviously super tough on the ribs. As you’ve found out, just driving can hurt your ribs. I’ve got a great fitting seat, great padding, a good ribvest and I’m fairly fit and have been racing a long time and I still get some pretty beat up ribs from time to time.

Building up core strength can help a bit so you aren’t getting throw around in the seat too much. Honestly, your seat should be pretty snug on you around the rib area.

What ribvest are you using?

Aaron
    Participant

Thanks for the response TJ. I believe this is the exact protector I’m using: http://mkracewear.co.uk/image/cache/data/Arroxx/Pic%2054360-500×500.jpg (except mine doesn’t have that piece in the middle front, it’s just the velcro)