Home Forums General Karting Discussion Beginner Here. Best Series to start in?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 14 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Brandon Kim 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Brandon Kim
    Participant

Hello, a the topic title says, I’m a total beginner and I’m deciding on which series to start in. I was thinking of entering in the PRD Junior 2 class in the LAKC (lakc.org). Any suggestions?

Joshua Guiher
    Participant

You are going to need to provide you area or local tracks if you know them.

Your age would help too.

Brandon Kim
    Participant

I’m 13 years old and I live around the LA area (more specifically Santa Clarita).

Matt Dixon
    Participant

Cant go wrong there, just dont get discouraged.

LAKC has big feilds with top drivers.

So just set goals you cant meet and keep your expectations real.

Get some support to help you from one of the many teams/shops at first but most of all have fun…

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

Hi, Brandon

Welcome to the sport

I honestly think your best bet would be http://www.bakersfieldkartraceway.com

Check out their website, this is an awesome kart club, and it’s not too far from you

Adams kart track and Cal speedway could be a bit of a distance for you

Bakersfield is just down the grape vine from you, passed Frazier Park.

Do you have a kart yet? In the market for one? Decided which one to get yet?

Brandon Kim
    Participant

Thank you for your replies people!

@FREDDY SANDOVAL: I am still in the market for one. I’m trying to look for karts in classifieds and I’m hoping to find a kart that already has the engine I need with it, along with some other goodies. If I can’t find a deal like that, I’m thinking of finding a roller and buying the other stuff separately.

As for the chassis, I’m lost. :\

Robert Brooks
    Participant

Brandon, If you’re considering LAKC, you must be in So Cal. What city do you live in.