Home Forums General Karting Discussion Avoiding dumb/newbie mistakes

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Greg Lindahl 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Dustin McGrew
    Participant

I am new to karting and I should be getting on track for my first practice sessions next weekend. I’ll be running the Senior Piston Port class at Pittsburgh Intl Race Complex (Beaverun). The thing I’m worried about is making some dumb mistake that will cost me money or track time. What are some mistakes that you’ve made or you’ve seen others make that can easily be avoided?

tony zambos
    Participant

Dustin,

Welcome to the sport. I suppose anyone on the forun can give you a list of things. But I’ll start.

Make sure your gear is ready. Besides the kart, your personal equipment, helmet, suit, gloves, shoes, rib protector and neck brace if you track requires one.  For the kart, make sure it’s safe. Know what needs to be saftety wired or clipped.  That’s mainly the steering components, spindles, tie rod ends, steering wheel, king pins.  You don’t want to be drilling bolts or nuts at the track. Make sure the brake pedal is NOT soft or goes soft. Make sure all the bolts are tight. Tie wrap the brake pedal to the front nerf and try to turn the wheels. they shouldn’t turn. Bring just about every tool you have used to work on the kart including a tire pressure gauge.  Consider having an air tank if one is not available at the track. But if put 20 lbs in each tire the night before, you should be good for most of the day since you’ll be letting out air as the day warms. Bring tie wraps plus electrical and duct tape, chain lub, gas and oil plus a measuring cup for the oil, rags or paper towels. Eventually you have to put together a box of spare nuts, bolts and washers. Bring a spare battery for you gauge or any other electronic device you might have.