Home Forums Autocross / Solo 2 Advice for new go kart dad for SCCA autocross?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Craig Butt 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Paul SCCA AS #35
    Participant

Former stock autox guy getting back into it after a recent move. Pretty well versed in all the minutia related to Stock car class now called Street for the SCCA.

However, I’m a total noob when it comes to karts. Specifically, karts for my kids who I’d like to involve this time around.  I’m also not a mechanic.  I can do all the work needed for my stock class car, but that’s about it.  So adjusting jets, timing, clutches, etc is foreign to me.

I’ve narrowed my search down to a couple kid karts in my area and I’m ready to go take a look at them.  As my time is constrained, I’m looking for dependable, durable, low maintenance instead of top speed, high maintenance.  Obviously also looking for SCCA legality for FJC as it appears you can bend many rules in the world of WKA karting depending on location.

Any advice what to look for when I see these kid karts with ease, dependability, and SCCA legality in mind for a non mechanic type of dad?

Thanks!

Paul. AS #35.

transplanted to Chicago

Craig Butt
    Participant

Paul,
    It looks like FJC is the class of choice (5-7 year olds)- that makes it pretty simple:
    1) Be sure your region is approved to run FJC (just because they have FJA & FJB does not mean they are approved for FJC – probably are, but check)
    2) Your engine choice is a Comer 50/51 – basically a big weed eater motor, no mods, simple clutch with no adjustments. Keep fresh fuel in it mixed with good 2 cycle oil and maybe once a year take off the muffler and clean out any buildup.
    3) Maintenance – karts are basically trying to “disassemble themselves” whenever they are running – check all the nuts and bolts regularly