Roa, Martis, Juillerat and Nigh Win Final 2015 So Cal Oval Karters Race at Perris Raceway

Stars of tomorrow, Jacey Voss of Lake Elsinore and San Pedro’s Caden Kahne honing their skills in the Jr Class at Perris Raceway (Photo: Schnarzy)

For the second time in two months, the So Cal Oval Karters visited the Perris Raceway Flat Track last Saturday night.  Like the first time on August 8, daytime temperatures soared to over 100 degrees, but after the sun took refuge behind the hills, the weather was beautiful and the only thing left hot was the racing.  Brody Roa, Matt Martis, Steve Juillerat and Cody Nigh all posted wins on the immaculately prepared dirt oval.

For the third time in 2015, Garden Grove’s Roa took advantage of a day off from his USAC/CRA Sprint Car schedule to win the KT100 main event.  In fact, the talented 24-year-old swept the KT100 portion of the program winning both heats as well.  Roa captured the first heat by a half straight away, but it was not as easy as it sounds.  He faced a stiff challenge from KT100 point leader Troy Patton of Cherry Valley until Patton broke.  For the second heat, Roa started on the inside of the back row, but the results were the same.  He weaved his way through the pack all the way to the front for another win.

Roa had the pole for the main event and he once again put a hurting on the field to score an impressive win.  Patton, Tyler Wilson of Torrance, Oxnard’s Rob Marion and Rev Parker of San Pedro, who won the first race of the season at Perris, comprised the remainder of the top five.  The victory gave Roa wins on all three of the regular tracks on the circuit – Wheel2Wheel Raceway, Perris Auto Speedway and Perris Raceway – in 2015.

Bonita’s Matt Martis was the class of the Senior 4 Cycle field for an amazing seventh time in 11 races in 2015.  Martis and Riverside’s Garrett Schill split the heat races in the class, but in the main Martis led the all the way from the pole.  Schill, who started fourth in the main, was running second, but mechanical ill’s at the Carly Nigh white flag forced him to nurse it home fourth.  Second and third went to Jason Voss of Lake Elsinore and Banning’s Desiree Gaynor.  Aubrey Oppelt, who also resides in Lake Elsinore took fifth.

The F200 field suffered a blow early on when the Krazy Dog Racing entry of Riverside’s Justin Garcia had a fueling problem in hot laps and he had to scratch for the night.  The favorite in the class had to be Don Amigliore.  The 52-year-old Menifee driver spanked the field in the previous two main events at Perris Auto Speedway and Wheel2Wheel Raceway.  He did so again in the first heat race on Saturday and after starting on the pole in the main event, he drove away to establish a half track lead and what looked to be a certain win until he broke.  That handed the lead and what appeared to be the win to point leader Troy McIntosh.  However, nobody told Whittier’s Steve Juillerat that McIntosh was supposed to win and Juillerat snatched the lead from him with a breathtaking pass at the white flag.  He then led the final lap for his first win of the 2015 season.  McIntosh, Scott Gaynor of Banning, who won the other heat race earlier in the night, and Amigliore claimed second through fourth.

The last class to compete on the night was the Open’s and for the fifth time in 2015, Camarillo’s Cody Nigh earned a first place main event trophy.  With Cherry Valley’s Steve Patton suffering problems early on, only Nigh and Norm Reynolds of San Marcos started the main.  While it was fairly close early on, Nigh moved away to what ended up being a half track lead when his sister waved the checkered flag to signal his win.  Nigh and Reynolds each won a heat race on the night.

As always, the class of the stars of tomorrow, JrJr, was also at Perris on Saturday.  Caden Kane of San Pedro, Whittier’s Tristan Juillerat and Jacey Voss & Troy McIntosh Jr., who both reside in Lake Elsinore, got in four sessions of laps on the track.

With only two races left on the 2015 schedule, the point chases are coming down to the wire.  Troy Patton leads Marion by 37-points in the KT100 title fight.  Parker and Wilson are both within 100-points of the leader in third and fourth.  San Diego’s Randy Truax is fifth.

Martis has a 40-point advantage over Voss in the Senior 4 Cycles.  Schill, Gaynor and Oppelt round out the top five.

In the F200’s McIntosh has the largest advantage in any of the classes in the SCOK as he is 100-points ahead of Scott Gaynor.  Juillerat, Garcia and Amigliore hold down spots three through five.

In the Open’s, San Diego State college student Nigh has a 70-point cushion over second place Steve Patton.  Reynolds, Chad Griggs and Chris Gibb comprise the remainder of the top five.

The SCOK will go to John Aden’s Wheel2Wheel Raceway for the “Race for the Rack” Breast Cancer Awareness Fund Raiser on October 10th.  Joining the SCOK will be the Speedway Sprints, DirtKarts and Extreme Sidecars.  Gates will open at 3:00 with racing at 6:00.  Wheel2Wheel Raceway is located on the San Bernardino County Fairgrounds in Victorville.

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors who help make the series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, Professional Announcer Chappy, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yamaha of America Racing Engines.  If you would like to become a part of the So Cal Oval Karters 2015 season, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

So Cal Oval Karters Point Standings

1. Troy Patton – Cherry Valley – 1501
2. Rob Marion – Oxnard – 1464
3. Rev Parker – San Pedro – 1433
4. Tyler Wilson – Long Beach – 1419
5. Randy Truax – San Diego – 1341

1. Troy McIntosh – Lake Elsinore – 1560
2. Scott Gaynor – Banning – 1460
3. Steve Juillerat – Whittier – 1140
4. Justin Garcia – Riverside – 1105
5. Don Amigliore – Menifee – 860

SR4 Cycle
1. Matt Martis – Bonita – 1580
2. Jason Voss – Lake Elsinore – 1540
3. Garret Schill – Riverside – 1460
4. Aubrey Oppelt – Lake Elsinore – 1382
5. Desiree Gaynor – Banning – 1246

1. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1575
2. Steve Patton – Cherry Valley – 1505
3. Norm Reynolds – San Marcos – 960
4. Chad Griggs – Lakeside – 830
5. Chris Gibb – Long Beach – 520 *

* = Non Member

2015 So Cal Oval Karters Winners

KT100: 3/21 Perris Raceway Rev Parker, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Troy Patton, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Brody Roa, 5-30 Perris Auto Speedway Road Course Rob Marion, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Rob Marion, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Rob Marion, 7-25 Industry Chris Gibb, 8-8 Perris Raceway Troy Patton, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Brody Roa, 9-12 Wheel2Wheel Troy Patton, 9-26 Perris Raceway Brody Roa

F200: 3/21 Perris Raceway Matt Drottz, 4/11 Wheel2WheelRaceway Jason Morheiser, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Troy McIntosh, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Troy McIntosh, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Jason Morheiser, 7-25 Industry Troy McIntosh, 8-8 Perris Raceway Troy McIntosh, 8-22 Don Amigliore, 9-12 Wheel2Wheel Don Amigliore, 9-26 Perris Raceway Steve Juillerat

SR 4 Cycle: 3/21 Perris Raceway Matt Martis, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Matt Martis, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Jason Voss, 5/30 Perris Auto Speedway (road course) Matt Martis, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Jason Voss, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Matt Martis, 7-25 Industry Matt Martis, 8-8 Perris Raceway Danny Morheiser, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Jason Voss, 9-12 Wheel2Wheel Matt Martis, 9-26 Perris Raceway Matt Martis

Open: 3/21 Perris Raceway Darren Elliott, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Chris Gibb, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Cody Nigh, 5-30 Perris Auto Speedway (road course) Mike Collins, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Cody Nigh, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Steve Patton, 7-25 Industry Steve Patton, 8-8 Perris Raceway Cody Nigh, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Chris Gibb, 9-12 Wheel2Wheel Cody Nigh, 9-26 Perris Raceway Cody Nigh

Please follow and like us:

EKN Global Members Discussion: