Texas ProKart Challenge Readies for North Texas Kartway

Official SKUSA regional and US Rotax Max Challenge program takes on challenging course on June 12-14

The Burger King® Texas ProKart - Texas Barge Rotax Max Challenge Series returns to the North Texas Kartway facility in Denton on June 12-14 (Photo: Dreams Captured Photography)

One of the largest regional karting programs is set to return back to action this weekend when the 2015 Burger King®/Texas Barge ProKart Challenge series – presented by 3G Kart Racing, Dallas Karting Complex and IAME USA West – visits the North Texas Kartway on June 12-14. Home of the North Texas Karters in Denton, Texas, the tight and challenging 1/2-mile course provides another exciting venue for the Superkarts! USA and US Rotax Max Challenge competitors as they take on the third and fourth rounds of the 10-race championship chase. The event will be held under daylight conditions for the first time in series history after a run of night-time main events in the three previous seasons.

Texas ProKart Challenge 2015 logoThe Champion Racing S1/S2 Stock Moto category, featuring 20 drivers at the opening event, has a number of champions at the top of the point standings. Former S4 SKUSA Pro Tour champion Jordon Musser holds the lead following his Round One victory. Round Two winner Jake French sits second, back by 75 points. Three-time S4 series champion Chris Jennings is third after placing on the podium both days in Katy. SwedeTech Racing Engines S4 Master Stock Moto has two drivers in a battle. Alexis Costa doubled up at the opening weekend, but Michael May is was right there both days.

TaG Senior has Austin Osborne at the top of the standings following his two wins at GCK. The opening weekend was a battle, as Nick Martin split the four heat races over the two days, and scored the fast time in qualifying both days to make the gap just 15 points heading into Denton. TaG Master was split between Erich Polack and Ric Baribeault, as the two head into the second event locked up in the championship fight.

Three drivers are in the early hunt for the Leading Edge of Texas TaG Cadet title. Destin Shields won the second round, running inside the top-four all weekend to stand on top of the points chase. Dylan Hajicek won on Saturday, and is just 15 points out of the lead. Enzo Scionti ran top-three throughout the event, including a heat race win, to stay just 30 points off Shields going into Denton. The AIM S5 Junior Stock Moto division saw two different winners in Katy as Luis Alfonso Perez Pena and Andrew Engberson won their first feature races of the season. Engberson collected the most points over the weekend, including a sweep on Sunday, to leave as the championship leader. Pena is back by just 50 points with Austin Jeffries, Broch Evans and Jacob Boubel still in the chase.

The Texas Barge Rotax Max Challenge portion of the series gives racers a chance to earn punches toward the United States Rotax Max Challenge Grand Nationals, set for South Carolina in August. For the April event, racers competed together aboard Rotax evo and non-evo engine packages. All Rotax racers competed for one set of trophies, however, two sets of points were distributed on the weekend, and then merged into the single class championship. The same format will continue at the second event, with the evo and non-evo engines separated by points after the weekend, racing for one trophy.

Chase Racing Rotax Junior category featured 20 drivers at the opening rounds of the 2015 season. Leading the way both main events was Ryan C. Lewis, who doubled up in the win column at Katy. When combining the two engine groups, Lewis leads by 55 points over Miguel Ruiz. Texas Barge Rotax Mini Max saw Marcelo Garcia double up in the win column in Dallas. Putting the two engine groups together, Maxwell Waithman also scored the same amount of points and the two drivers enter Denton tied for first.

The Texas Barge Rotax Micro Max division had Noel Jesus Leon and Juan Pablo Cepeda score the overall wins in Katy. At the top of the points however after combining the groups is Enzo Scionti. As the top non-evo driver, Scionti holds a 85 point lead over Leon and Cepeda. Gabe Bargas won both feature races in the Motorsports Development Group Rotax Senior division and leads the standings. Connor Ford and Thomas Beaudoin were runner-up in the two feature races, and are the lead challengers in the standings. Moises de la Vara ran uncontested in the Rotax Masters category, as did Lance Lehrman in the Kart Racing Solutions Rotax DD2 Masters. The Dallas Karting Complex Rotax DD2 chase has Harry Gottsacker at the top over former Team USA member Nathan Mauel with Gottsacker holding two wins thus far.

Additional updates on the 2015 Burger King®/Texas Barge ProKart Challenge series – presented by 3G Kart Racing, Dallas Karting Complex and IAME USA West is available at texasprokartchallenge.com and be sure to find Texas ProKart Challenge on Facebook.

Please follow and like us:

EKN Global Members Discussion: