--> Record Numbers for CIK Stars of Karting Championship Opener – eKartingNews

Record Numbers for CIK Stars of Karting Championship Opener

A record number of competitors will line up at the opening found of 2014 next weekend
(Photo: AF Images/Budd)

Next weekend’s opening round of the 2014 CIK Stars of Karting Championship presented by Castrol EDGE in Ipswich, Queensland has attracted a record number of entries.

For this first time in the Championship’s 19-year history there will be more than 190  competitors take to the circuit across the seven classes contested.

Gold Coaster Lucas Ward will make his debut in the KF2 class (Photo: Fletcher Photography/Bryant)

Gold Coaster Lucas Ward will make his debut in the KF2 class
(Photo: Fletcher Photography/Bryant)

Between the three elite CIK (Commission Internationale de Karting) classes – KZ2, KF2 and KF3 – an impressive 72 drivers will take to the circuit. It will be the first time since the late nineties when drivers to the caliber of Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom were in the prime of their karting careers, that such large fields have been assembled in the top-level classes of karting in Australia.

In the six-speed KZ2 category, a pair of Dutchmen – reigning Champion Joey Hanssen and Marijn Kremer – will take on Australia’s best drivers including 2012 Champion Chris Hays and Ipswich Grammar School student Brock Plumb.

For Plumb, next weekend’s event will be the biggest challenge of his lengthy karting career as he moves from the single-speed KF2 class into the KZ2 ranks.

“I’m new to the class with a lot to learn, however we have done a lot of work on and off the track to give ourselves the best chance at a good result,” said Plumb.

“My engine tuner Graham Armstrong has done an amazing job getting up to speed on the engine side, so I hope I can get a good result in my first real race in the KZ2 class.

“I am fairly confident that we can walk away from the first round with a good result.”

Another driver set to tackle a new challenge is Gold Coaster Lucas Ward. The 18 year-old will be a part of the highly competitive KF2 field that includes entries from various parts of the country.

It will be the first event that Ward has contested in the class where he will line up against the likes of reigning champion Matthew Waters from Sydney and 2013 Coates Hire Race of Stars winner Troy Loeskow from Bundaberg.

Loganholme youngster Harrison Hoey will be competiting in the KF3 class (Photo: AF Images/Budd)

Loganholme youngster Harrison Hoey will be competiting in the KF3 class
(Photo: AF Images/Budd)

No less than 25 youngsters will line up in the top-level junior category – KF3. It is in this class where Loganholme’s Harrison Hoey will become the youngest driver since Red Bull Racing’s Australian Formula One driver Daniel Ricciardo to take to the circuit in the top level of junior karting in Australia.

In addition to the three CIK classes, the event doubles as the first event on the schedule for the Australian TaG 125 and Rookies Challenge.

In the TaG 125 class, a capacity field of 44 drivers will take to the circuit with Ipswich regulars Adam Mercer, Ben Stewart, Jason Burns and Chris Farkas expected to figure prominently. Adding further interest to the class is the fact that V8 Utes driver Kris Walton and female drivers Holly Patrizi, Courtney Gough and former Australian Champion Jessica Golding will be among the action.

Practice for the event will be held next Friday morning (March 28) ahead of qualifying in the afternoon and the opening heat in the early evening. The racing will continue from 9:30am through to 8pm on Saturday.

A full timetable of events can be found by clicking here.

The action from the finals will be streamed live across the internet with links to be provided on the Karting Australia (www.karting.net.au), Stars of Karting (www.starsofkarting.com.au) and My Sport Live (www.mysportlive.com.au) websites.

A full list of entrants can be found here.

The Ipswich Kart Club is located on Champions Way, Willowbank.

CIK Stars of Karting Championship
Former Champions

KZ2 (previously Pro Gearbox and Intercontinental C)
2013 – Joey Hanssen (CRG/Modena)
2012 – Chris Hays (Energy/TM)
2011 – Tyler Greenbury (Intrepid/Maxter)
2010 – Matthew Wall (BRM/TM)
2005 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2004 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2003 – Tyson Pearce (Omega/TM)
2002 – Jason Burns (Mac Minerelli/TM)

KF2 (previously Pro Light and Formula A)
2013 – Matthew Waters (Kosmic/IAME)
2012 – Adam Hughes (Kosmic/IAME)
2011 – Jake Spencer (Kosmic/IAME)
2010 – Cian Fothergill (Kosmic/IAME)
2009 – Hayden McBride (Gillard/IAME)
2004 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2003 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2002 – Adam Graham (Arrow/Rotax)
2001 – Mark Winterbottom (Tony Kart/Vortex)
2000 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1999 – Jamie Whincup (Tecno/Parilla)
1998 – Ryan Wlodzinski (PCR/PCR)
1997 – David Clark (Tecno/Atomik)
1996 – Jeremy Lohmann (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1995 – Darrell Smith (PCR/PCR)
1994 – Phillip Scifleet (Haase/Italsistem)
1993 – Richard McLeod (Azzurro/Fox)

KF3 (previously Pro Junior and Junior Intercontinental A)
2013 – Liam McLellan (OK1/Vortex)
2012 – Cameron Hill (Top Kart/Vortex)
2011 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2010 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2005 – Joshua Scott (BRM)
2004 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2003 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2002 – Ben Chong Sun (Top Kart/Comer)
2001 – Tim Slade (Top Kart/Comer)
2000 – Andrew Thompson (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1999 – Adam Graham (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1998 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1997 – Michael Caruso (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1996 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/CRG)
1995 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/Parilla)
1994 – Christian Jones (CRG/Rotax)
1993 – Mike Hazelton (CRG/Parilla)

Intercontinental A
*No longer contested in the championship
2005 – Daniel Ricciardo (Trulli/IAME)
2004 – Ashley Walsh (Trulli/IAME)
2003 – Glenn Powles (Trulli/IAME)
2002 – Luke May (CRG)
2001 – Josh Hunt (Energy/Parilla)
2000 – Brendan May (Mike Wilson/Italsistem)
1999 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1998 – Jamie Whincup (Tecno/Parilla)
1997 – Troy Hunt (Top Kart/Rotax)
1996 – John Joyce (Tony Kart/Italsistem)
1995 – Lincoln Mitchell (Top Kart/Comer)
1994 – Sandro Guaitoli (PCR/PCR)
1993 – Shane Wilson (Haase/Italsistem)  

EKN Global Members Discussion: