--> DeLaO Dominates in his RACERSITES Cup Debut Against Star-Studded Field of Drivers – eKartingNews

DeLaO Dominates in his RACERSITES Cup Debut Against Star-Studded Field of Drivers

Phil DeLaO, Michael McDowell, Ryan Blaney and Johan Schwartz all scored wins tonight in Round Four of the RACERSITES Cup five-week series at Mooresville Motorplex (MMX). However, all in attendance would agree that the Powder Puff race stole the show as competitors and fans lined the fences to watch 22 ladies leave absolutely nothing on the table during their eight-lap race as part of opening ceremonies before the final races began.

In the TaG Senior division, young driver, Phil DeLaO, surprised the stacked field of 18 drivers with a dominating win in his RACERSITES Cup debut. He shot out to an early lead on the field, but Scott Speed tracked DeLaO down and passed him for the lead by lap three. However, DeLaO didn’t give up and stuck within half a kart length of Speed’s bumper.

Meanwhile, the battle for sixth through eighth position between Ryan Briscoe, Kyle Larson and Brad Sweet began to intensify with position changes in nearly every corner. With 13 laps to go, DeLaO made his move back around Speed in turn one, but Speed followed through with a cross over move in the next corner. While DeLaO and Speed were battling, it allowed Jason Bowles to close in on their lead. When the frontrunners caught up to lap traffic, DeLaO was able navigate around the karts quickly and checked out to a five-kart length lead over Speed.

With one lap to go, Speed and Bowles were nose-to-nose at the start/finish line, but Bowles made a strong move around Speed by turn one and was able to secure the second position, while Speed followed behind in third and DeLaO took the victory.

Following final tech inspection, Speed was disqualified, giving the third place position to Colin Braun and the points lead to Bowles.

Michael McDowell took home the victory in the TaG Masters 20-lap feature race. McDowell started in the back of the 10-kart field of drivers, allowing Chuck Tate to run away with an early lead on the field. However, McDowell quickly began to lay down the fastest laps on the track and had made his way up to third position by lap five.

The leaders, Tate and Randy Sampson, made contact on lap seven, allowing McDowell to secure the lead. McDowell went on to take the win as Round Three winner, Chuck Gafrarar, and new points leader, Peter Michel, rounded out the top three.

In the 20-lap Rental Kart League Light division, Ryan Blaney stole the win from Drew Herring in a close battle. After Herring lead the field to green, Blaney was able to overtake him in the hairpin turn. However, when the leaders approached lap traffic, Herring closed in to attempt a pass on Blaney. Herring was never able to overtake Blaney back for the lead and Herring settled for second place, while Brad Lloyd finished in third.

In one of the best Rental Kart League Heavy division races of the series, Johan Schwartz took home the victory. The 20-lap feature race was full of action as the top four drivers swapped position in nearly every corner. By the halfway point, you still could have thrown a blanket over the top four karts as they battled bumper-to-bumper. At the checkered flag, it was Schwartz who crossed the line in first, followed by Stay Flat and Steer A lot and Skirts.

There wasn’t a person in attendance that wasn’t watching as Gena Gouker took home the victory against a full field of 22 drivers in the eight-lap Powder Puff race! A random draw set the starting lineup for the race, which began with a standing, staggered start. Turn one caused a massive pileup resulting in a complete restart before the field even made it through a turn. It was absolute mayhem as the ladies battled their way around the track, not giving up even an inch to their competitors. Colbi Bradley and Missy Tate rounded out the top three in the crowd-pleasing, fan-favorite race of the night!

RACERSITES Cup Round Five, Season Finale: The RACERSITES Cup will conclude with Round Five and the season finale on Wednesday night, April 10. Special for the season finale will be an awards ceremony and trophy presentation following the feature races to honor the series champions in all four divisions.

Each round of the RACERSITES Cup consists of two practice sessions, a qualifying session and feature racing under the lights for the TaG Senior, TaG Masters and the Rental Kart League divisions. Gates open at 3 p.m. with feature racing set to begin at 7 p.m.

There is a $10 Facility Entrance Fee for all spectators and kids 10 and under are FREE. Individuals who have a MMX membership will not be charged a Facility Entrance Fee.

Be Part of the Action via Social Media: For all of the latest information during the week, follow #RACERSITESCup on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #RACERSITESCup in your tweet. Also, you can follow RACERSITES and MMXKarting for exclusive, behind the scenes event photos on Instagram. Search for photos using #RACERSITESCup and for a chance to win weekly prizes, submit your own by tagging your image.

EKN Global Members Discussion: